Local French Finds: Wisteria Antiques

img_0409_2

Every once in a while you come across a spot so special you just have to share it with the world. Wisteria is one of those spots for me, and I think you, my fellow francophiles, will love it too!

I’ve lived in Santa Cruz County for most of my life and it wasn’t until I was in my mid-twenties that I finally made it into the shop. It’s totally nondescript and the location is such that half the time you pass it going the opposite direction and there is no easy turn into the parking lot.

But when you do? It is absolument worth it.

Wisteria antiques gives me my French fix everytime, without fail :: à coup sûr. 

img_0411_2

The paved path brings you into a courtyard with a small country house on the right. When you enter the house it is like stepping into a French country kitchen and I just love it!

img_0415_2

Already there is so much to look at and explore. Over the years I have purchased some adorable red and white bowls and am always tempted by the bee glasses!

img_0416_2

Every inch of space in the house is filled with tempting French knick knacks, linens, candles, artwork, furnishings, and books.

img_0417_2

I would happily just move right in!

img_0420_2

I mean, champagne in bed…who could resist?

img_0418_2img_0419_2

Beyond the main house, there are two more buildings filled to the brim with larger pieces of furniture – armoires, settees, and the like. I love to take my time and thumb through every book, explore every nook, and daydream…

img_0422_2

There is an aviary with doves and fountains, flowers, plants, shrubs, and bistro table sets to covet.

I often wish I could bring a picnic and sit outside for an afternoon, sketching or watercoloring. #notsuretheydletme

img_0423_2

I highly recommend you stop by this delightful shop and oasis the next time you are in town – or passing through. It is worth the stop, for sure!

Wisteria Antiques is located at 5870 Soquel Drive in Soquel, California. It is easy to get to off of Highway 1. Call for hours and directions: 831.462.2900

Until next time :: jusqu’à la prochaine fois, 

image-1-2

 

 

Leave a Reply

